Romance for a Reason: Females in Fiction #7

Since Romance for a Reason is all about honoring and supporting women warriors, I’ve spent the month visiting blogs and talking about females in fiction. Today I’m back home on my own blog to tackle number seven on my requirement list for kick-ass heroines. Click on the titles to catch up on any of the others you missed!

Top ten things more fictional (and real-life) females ought to do:

1. Save themselves (and everyone else) whenever they can.

2. Accept when they can’t.

3. Know themselves.

4. Be willing to change.

5. Embrace their sexuality.

6. Champion their femininity.

7. Appreciate chivalry.

8. Celebrate girl power.

9. Eliminate cattiness.

10. Cry a little & laugh a lot.

If Chivalry is Dead, It’s Because We Killed It

I started the month on a rampage about how women in romance and real life need to take charge and get the job done on their own. I skewered the princesses of the past for twiddling their thumbs while awaiting their Prince Charmings and decimated the
stereotype of damsels in distress needing a man to save the day.

But, ladies, I never said we need to slaughter our saviors. It’s not the fault of the prince for wanting to be the hero, for wanting to save the one he loves. Frankly, shouldn’t we be flattered that someone would risk his life for us?

In my first post I used the analogy of my dad taking my car to get its oil changed for me, something he does because he likes to and I don’t. There’s never an implication that I couldn’t complete this task; it’s just something he does to be kind. If he came home and handed me back my keys and I bit his head off for helping, I would not be a model for strength. I would be an ungrateful little bitch. A woman who can’t accept help from a man, doesn’t come off as heroic; she comes off as threatened.

Females in fiction sometimes need a reminder of this, as do their writers. For every damsel in distress is a character too independent for her own good, one who can’t seem to see the difference between a gentlemen wanting to be polite, chivalrous, or romantic and a chauvinistic pig with the intent on degrading a woman by stepping in when he assumes she is too frail to act for herself. If every male in fiction was the latter, there would be no romance worth reading. We need to give the guys, especially those stepping in front of swords for us, the benefit of the doubt. While the writers of romance need to find better ways of creating tension for their love scenes. Despite how the media often portrays us, females can be strong and still be kind and appreciative of a little chivalry now and again.

Hold the door open for this independent woman, and I’m much more likely to take your number than to take your head off.

Want to help support some real-life heroines?

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month and National Domestic Violence Awareness Month. As the daughter of a breast cancer survivor and a friend and teacher of too many women who’ve been affected by violence, I chose it to also to be the release date for Unbridled. I may not love wearing pink or purple, the colors of these two issues, but I do love a good fight for great causes. I’ve chosen to battle this one with my pen. How will you help?

Read some romance. Proceeds from Unbridled will be donated to the two charities listed here. It’s now available as both a paperback and e-book on Amazon, and for Nook on Barnes & Noble.

Donate. Make your own individual donation to these two charities or choose a local charity supporting these and other causes affecting women in your area. To learn more about each charity and my reasons for choosing them, visit the Romance for
a Reason page
. Or click through to donate directly.

The Breast Cancer Research Foundation

V-Day

Party hard. Gather the women (and men!) of your book club or just a group of friends for a Romance for Reason party. Party ideas? Check out my blog for ideas on how to plan your gathering. Then download the Romance Reading Questionnaire and/or the Body Lingo Bingo for some fun party activities! (My own book club met just this past week, raised some money, and had a blast!)

Share. Tweet, status update, review, or just chat with friends about the books, the tour, and the charities (mine or yours)!

As a thank you for your help, I’m doing a Rafflecopter giveaway during the blog tour. Be sure to enter to win one of two
prize packages!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

