BBF: Author Interview With Liss Thomas

Blogger Book Fair: Day 4


For those of you just finding your way to my blog for the BBF, welcome! Feel free to head over to my regular website to learn a bit about me and my writing and to enter a chance to win a digital copy of my first two novels in the Alex Crocker series, Unforeseen and Unveiled

Hang here first, though, for a little more Q & A, this time with YA author Liss Thomas.

0
false

<wunctuationKerning/>
<wrawingGridHorizontalSpacing>18 pt</wrawingGridHorizontalSpacing>
<wrawingGridVerticalSpacing>18 pt</wrawingGridVerticalSpacing>
<wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>
<wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>

false
false
false

<wontGrowAutofit/>
<wontAutofitConstrainedTables/>
<wontVertAlignInTxbx/>

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-fareast-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;}


Here we go. Rapid-fire interview style. Lovin’ it.

Where is the weirdest place you found inspiration?

I usually find inspiration from books or
movies, thinking to myself, what would have happened if this changed or that
didn’t happen. My imagination seems to take one small scene and sends it down
the rabbit hole.

Also a nighttime combination of grape
soda and snacks seems to create the craziest of dreams.

Who is your favorite character from one of your novels?

While I love all of my characters. I’m
quite fond of a few of my minor characters. One in particular is Belinak the
troll. He’s a small player in my first novel, Finding Monsters; however he was such a fun character that I
created a major role for book five. He has a great backstory!

Who is your favorite character ever! And why?

So many good characters! Since I’m fond
of YA books and a few MG, I enjoyed Dan and Amy from The 39 Clues. It’s amazing
that several authors wrote the series. I love young kids that do extraordinary
things.

If you had a super power, what would it be?

I would be like The Phoenix (The X-Men)
but without the crazy insanity.

Self-publish or traditional? Why?

I can’t really say I tried traditional. I
may have sent my manuscript out to maybe twenty literary agents with
rejections. I’m sure I hadn’t tried long enough but I researched self-publishing
and saw the opportunity to manage my own author career.

If you have a spouse/partner, do they read your work? How do they
react?

My hubby doesn’t read my manuscripts
until they are complete. My sister is the one that I badger to read my works as
they are developing. Both often help me work out hiccups in my scenes or throw
crazy work-a-rounds at me until one sticks!

What is your favorite mythical creature?

I love dragons! I would have one if I
could get one. But alas, I don’t necessarily like lizards or reptiles!

Wind up and short Pitch your book to the audience

Squee! Here is the short pitch for Finding Monsters

Monsters are real but they’re not what
we’d expect. Their realm lays hidden only to be found in darkness. They watch
their humans, the little ones and keep them from the dark portals leading to
their world. To touch is forbidden… but not all follow the rules.

Missy has been fighting to live her
entire life, but when she finds herself in a realm of unique and sometimes
deadly monsters, she discovers just how much of a survivor she really is.
Accidentally transferred to this mysterious realm by her monster and only
friend, Charlie, he finds himself weak and unable to protector her. The only
way she can defend herself and him, is to become a monster herself. But an
unknown dark stalker watches her progress and if he steals her power, he will
unleash a scourge on both his world and the world she left behind.

What is your current WIP?

I’m currently working on an online serial
novel called Beyond Pacifica that
involves mermaids and time travel

I’m also working on the sequel to Finding Monsters, entitled Becoming Monsters. I’m hoping to meet my
deadline release of October this year.

What do you do when you need a spark of creativity?

Listening to music usually helps. Sometimes
the lyrics stimulate scenes in my brain.

Liss’s debut novel:


About the Author:

Liss Thomas currently lives in sunny
Florida when tornados and water spouts are not popping up in her backyard. She
loves Young Adult Fiction and writes fantasy in that genre. She released her
debut novel Finding Monsters in
October of 2012 and is planning to release the sequel, Becoming Monsters in October 2013. She also plans to release a
novella from the same universe entitled, Hidden
Monsters
sometime this year. 

Get to know her characters and her style
at www.lissthomas.com

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/lissthomasauthor

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Girliegeek3152

WEBSITE http://lissthomas.com/

AMAZON: http://amzn.to/122Uzz5

 

Liss’s ONLINE SERIALS

HIDDEN MONSTERS: http://lissthomas.com/serial-novels/hidden-monsters/

BEYOND PACIFICA: http://lissthomas.com/serial-novels/beyond-pacifica/

 

Thanks so much for visiting, Liss!

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “BBF: Author Interview With Liss Thomas

  1. They are in SALESCoach Cameron Ultimate Sales Model If they pack products that are shipped to customers They are in SALES

    Like

Leave a Reply

