BBF: Navigating the Waters of Self-Publishing With M. L. Guida

Blogger Book Fair: Day 2


For those of you just finding your way to my blog for the BBF, welcome! Feel free to head over to my regular website to learn a bit about me and my writing and to enter a chance to win a digital copy of my first two novels in the Alex Crocker series, Unforeseen and Unveiled


Don’t click away just yet, though, or you’ll miss the swashbuckling fang-weilding fun! I’ve got fellow vampire enthusiast, M. L. Guida sharing a bit about herself, her books, and her publishing process. 



0
false

<wunctuationKerning/>
<wrawingGridHorizontalSpacing>18 pt</wrawingGridHorizontalSpacing>
<wrawingGridVerticalSpacing>18 pt</wrawingGridVerticalSpacing>
<wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>
<wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>

false
false
false

<wontGrowAutofit/>
<wontAutofitConstrainedTables/>
<wontVertAlignInTxbx/>

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

I’m M.L. Guida and the paranormal has
always fascinated me every since I was a little girl. I used to watch Creature Feature, Outer Limits and Night
Gallery
. But now, Supernatural, A Haunting and Ghost Hunters are among favorite shows. How can you not love Sam
and Dean Winchester?

What’s my preferred supernatural being?
Vampires —from Bram Stoker’s Dracula
to Ann Rice’s Lestat de Lioncourt to
Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunters. I’d
love a sexy bite on the neck.

I’ve always loved pirates. Yes, who can
resist Johnny Depp’s Captain Sparrow
or Error Flynn’s Captain Blood.  Riding the high seas and sinking the enemies’
ship.

Based on these two fascinations, A Pirate’s Curse was born. This book
takes place in 1691 and in the Caribbean. I did take liberties in writing this
book, since vampires were not in vogue until a much later date.

I soon discovered that this book does
not fit in a box with publishers. It’s neither historical nor paranormal and
consequently, it was rejected, not for the writing, but for the placement.
Also, many publishers were afraid to take a chance on vampires. Why? Because
they thought the market was flooded with vampires. I disagree. I love vampires.
I’m a writer, but a reader first.

My vampires are not your typical
vampires. After drinking from a cursed lake, they only turn during the full
moon, thanks to a crafty demon. I did take a twist on the lore and I think
readers would enjoy this new tale.

I took a daring step and decided to
self-publish. This was scary since I had to do everything a publisher does but
front the costs. I learned two lessons. First, I had to get an experienced
editor, but I didn’t want any editor, I wanted an editor who knew about pirates.
How did I discover my wonderful editor—Jennifer Bray-Weber? I went on Amy
Atwell’s site, Authors EMS, and found a list of editors. I clicked on Ms.
Bray-Weber’s clients and liked the reviews I found.

But an editor isn’t the only necessity.
I needed a professional cover. I admit. 
As a reader, I judge a book by its cover. So, I wanted a book that I’d
be willing to purchase. I’ve always loved Hot Damn Design’s book covers so I
had Kim Killion do my cover. Hot, isn’t it?

I also took Ms. Atwell’s class and learned
about the self-publishing process, but nothing prepares you for it until you
step into it. I discovered I needed two programs – one to change images into
pdf’s and an image manipulation tool. Luckily, I was able to find two free
software programs on the internet – novaPDF and Gimp. I needed both for
Createspace which is what I plan to use for my print version. E-books do not
require either of these programs.

I’m still learning how to navigate
through Amazon, but one of the best features is the ability to set my own
prices. For the duration of this week, A
Pirate’s Curse
will be 99 cents. I hope you enjoy it and pass it along to
your friends. I always want to hear back from my readers and would love to hear
your reviews on one of the social medias or you can also reach me on my website:
www.mlguida.com

I do have another contemporary
paranormal series, Angels of Death, through Passion in Print, a small press.
They are listed on my website.

  What are your
favorite supernatural beings? Have a favorite vampire? I know some of you are Supernatural fans, so are you a Sam or
Dean fan? It’s hard for me to choose. I love them both. I love Dean’s quips and
Sam’s looks.

 If you leave a comment, I plan to have a drawing and will
give away a free copy of A Pirate’s Curse.

Purchase on Amazon: A Pirate’s Curse 

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

