Being a Follower & a Leader

Following:

I’m joining a blogfest today, partly because it’s a great way to mingle with other bloggers and authors and partly because the required post was short! (Just keeping it real!) 

Thanks to Alex J. Cavanaugh for hosting.


The directions:

One blogfest, four favorites!

List your favorite genre of:

Movie

Music

Books

And a guilty pleasure genre from any of the three categories!


Movie Genre: Lately, fantasy. Going by what I generally like to see in the theaters, I would have said action/suspense. But going by the films I’ve actually seen in theatres in the last year (Hunger Games, Breaking Dawn, Snow White and the Huntsman), I guess fantasy is more accurate.


Music genre: Alternative rock. In itself a varying genre, but I’m a lyric girl, and I find one thing that most alternative rock shares is great lyrics. To give a shout out to a friend’s band, I’m currently loving Ways to Fall.


Book genre: Here I can definitely say fantasy. Though I never would have read a book in this genre growing up, as an adult it has become by far my favorite. I love the escape, the world building, and the creativity of the many great authors out there. Thank you, J.K. Rowling for luring me in!


A guilty pleasure from one of these three categories: My Glee playlist. Though I haven’t watched much of the last season, I still love singing along loudly and poorly to those tunes from the first two seasons. If you are ever in central MA and drive by a crazy chick rocking out in her obnoxiously blue car to “Gold Digger,” say hello; it’s probably me.

Want to share your own favs? There’s still time to join in!

Leading:


To have a little fall fun and to help promote the paperback release of my novel, Unforeseen on September 28th, the Friday before the full moon, I’m hosting a blog tour. If any of my fellow writers are interested, let me know and I’ll be sure to send you the information. For my readers, look forward to some freaky posts by some terrific writers or some terrific posts by some freaky writers–all the same, it’ll be good!

6 Comments

Filed under Writing

6 responses to “Being a Follower & a Leader

  1. Alternative is very cool! Fantasy is also a favorite of mine.Thanks for participating in my blogfest!

    Like

  2. I love fantasy books, too. Harry Potter is one of my favorites.

    Like

  3. Lauren's Blog

    You’re very welcome, Alex. Thanks for having me!

    Like

  4. Your lists are great. I like everything on them. Nice to meet you.

    Like

  5. It’s funny you said that about not reading fantasy as a kid. I didn’t either, yet it’s a favorite for me now. I read a lot of horror as a kid.My Genre Favorites & Guilty Pleasures

    Like

  6. Lauren's Blog

    Too funny, Shannon, I was a horror fan too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

