Blog Tour Begins: Welcome, Jamie Musings!


<oocumentProperties>
Normal
0
0
<oages>1</oages>
334
1909
15
<oaragraphs>3</oaragraphs>
2344
11.1539
</oocumentProperties>

0
<woNotShowRevisions/>
<woNotPrintRevisions/>
<wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>
<wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>

**Update: Jamie’s book is now available on Amazon!

For the first blog swap of the month, I’m welcoming Jamie Musings writing about her experience with NaNoWriMo, her book, and her muse!

 

Muse Musings by Jamie Musings

It still doesn’t feel real to me. I started this journey
back in November when I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel
Writing Month). For those who haven’t heard about it, it’s a website where
people sign up each November to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. It was
a crazy and fun time that introduced me to some great writers I was lucky
enough to meet face to face- I seriously encourage everyone to try it at least
once. Little did I know when I signed up, I would actually be only weeks away
from putting this book into other people’s hands. I’m nervous, excited,
hopeful- all of it.

The book follows a muse as she inspires people through the
ages. This got me thinking about my own muse and my relationship with him/her.
It’s been a bumpy one, that’s for sure. I admit I’ve cursed mine out more times
than I can count, hence the very first line of the book.  It made me think about inspiration and
whose fault is it really when the muse isn’t with you?

I’d say it’s at least partially mine. I do have a very hard
time getting the ideas, but I could work a bit harder at it when they come. I
can imagine my muse sitting in front of me right now waving wildly and yelling “listen
up!” For example, I’ve lost more ideas than I care to think about by not
writing my dreams down. It was one of the biggest victories to me when I
finally did get one written up. Whether I work on it now or during NaNo 2012, I
have no idea.

Since writing this book, I’ve found that once I actually sit
down to write (usually under threat of deadline), it’s coming much easier. I’m
getting into photography and designing graphics, each new thing I do is giving
me an idea for something else. A door has been opened and I plan to keep it
that way. I just hope my muse will have patience with me in the meantime…


Blogger Bio:


Jamie B. Musings is a music addict, book lover, pet servant
& NaNoWriMo survivor. When she’s not busy writing posts for CultureShock,
she’s taking pictures for her new obsession (That Photo Blog) and spending time
with her husband and pets. Her first book, The Life and Times of No One in
Particular
, is slated to be released in May 2012 and is currently in the final
editing stages. She’s also an avid tweeter, new pintrest convert and live posts
shows and other things on Facebook.

To read more from Jamie and to see my post about the music that inspired Unforeseen visit her blog.


1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Blog Tour Begins: Welcome, Jamie Musings!

  1. Nice information, valuable and excellent design, share good stuff with good ideas and concepts, lots of great information and inspiration, both of which we all need. Thanks for your fantastic blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

