Mad Hatter


<oocumentProperties>
Normal
0
0
<oages>1</oages>
518
2958
24
<oaragraphs>5</oaragraphs>
3632
11.1539
</oocumentProperties>

0
<woNotShowRevisions/>
<woNotPrintRevisions/>
<wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery>
<wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>0</wisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery>

            When
I decided almost two years ago that I wanted to really take a shot at being a
writer, I knew the reality of what I was getting into.  Or I thought I knew.  Sure, I dreamed of hitting the Harry
Potter
or Hunger Games lottery and being able to walk away from my teaching
job without any fear of literally becoming a starving artist, but I knew that
was unlikely.  I figured that like
the majority of writers, I’d have to keep my day job and squeeze in writing on
nights, weekends, and school vacations. 
Two jobs, no problem.

            Two
years wiser (and not a penny richer, unfortunately) I am wishing I had been
closer to the mark.  In addition to
trying to be a writer and teacher, I’m now also attempting to be a blogger,
contract negotiator, publicist, website administrator, press-release writer,
and social networker extraordinaire. 
Attempting being the key word. 

            It
seems the days of writing a book, finding a publisher, and sitting back
watching it sell are over–if they ever existed at all.  Now even writers at the bigger
publishing companies need to wear many hats to be successful.  Those of us at the smaller ones
practically need to clone ourselves or learn to live without sleep.  I have friends with babies now, so I’m
trying to take lessons from them, but most are too incoherent to be
helpful.  Not a good sign.

            On
my pessimistic days, the expression “Jack of all trades” dances
through my swarming brain.  It
doesn’t make sense that in order to be a writer, I’m spending less time on my
writing and more time on other jobs. 
On my optimistic days, though, I look for the benefits of these added
duties.  Blogging has forced me to
write in a completely different manner than my fiction writing.  Though I haven’t attempted one yet, I
know writing a press release will also stretch my writing; I haven’t written a
news-style piece since high school journalism.  However, in my opinion, the more genres a writer works in
the better.  Variety creates
growth, which is a good thing.  On
the technology side, maintaining a website and expanding my social media
knowledge keeps me up to date, allows me to connect with my potential audience,
and helps me to interpret what the hell my students mean when they start
talking in tweets.  I’m not open to
accepting essays in 140 characters or less quite yet, but we’ll see.  They would be quicker to correct.  Finally, having to deal with the
business end of things, as well as having to promote my work and myself, has
certainly pushed me out of my comfort zone, which I also view as a positive
experience.  I’m not saying I
appreciated the panic attacks or love the constant blushing whenever I have to
pitch my book to someone new, but I’m looking forward to the day when I have
enough experience that these side-effects subside.  

            There
aren’t too many people who don’t have to do some serious multi-tasking these
days.  Back to those moms and dads
I mentioned earlier, they are the kings and queens of this, and I am in awe.  They can juggle parenting, jobs,
hobbies and everything else life throws at them with sleep in their eyes and
spit-up on their shirt, and at the end of most days are happy they had the
opportunity.  This is the same
skill and outlook writers need. 
The more things I experience, the more accurately I can write about
life.  The more I have to work to
be a writer, the more I’ll appreciate the time I get with my own
“babies”–my books.  So
I’m going to embrace my new tasks, and I’m taking copious notes in case my next
book is about a person with a multiple-personality disorder.  Tea, anyone?

7 Comments

Filed under Writing

7 responses to “Mad Hatter

  1. lol, Lauren. As I comment on your blog, I’m supposed to be working on a guest post for another blog, an education article for Yahoo! and an application for another blogging job…you are right, girl…this business has changed over the last ten years or so. The internet is an amazing thing for a writer but it makes our job so much harder!!

    Like

  2. Hi Lauren, Loved your post and can identify with much of what you say. I’ve been a fan of Jeff Goins for awhile, but only today read his Writer’s Manifesto. I’m going to post the link here because I think you may enjoy it to. http://goinswriter.com/writers-manifesto/ Keep the faith – you have great words to share.

    Like

  3. Lauren's Blog

    So true, Sarah.  The internet and social media is a whole new topic-for next week, perhaps!  Happy writing

    Like

  4. Lauren's Blog

    Great link, Valerie.  He’s right about the importance of passion and that’s definitely what writing is for me.  Thanks!

    Like

  5. Lauren-I follow Michael Hyatt on Twitter and he has some pretty solid advice on social media. Putting some of his practices in place has netted me a few new clients. He also runs a publishing company, so he has some tips for writers as well. Worth a scan.http://michaelhyatt.com/the-beginners-guide-to-twitter.html

    Like

  6. Lauren's Blog

    Thanks, Steve.  I’ll definitely check this out.  You seem to have the whole twitter, linked in thing down; I may be bothering you later for tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

